The Athletic Equipment Managers Association has developed two college scholarship programs to assist students with the many expenses of a college education:

The AEMA Scholarships

offering three (3) $500.00 Scholarships each year

The Jimmy Callaway Scholarship

offering two (2) $500.00 Scholarships each year

These awards were developed in keeping with the following AEMA objectives:

  • The advancement, encouragement and improvement of the Athletic Equipment profession in all its phases, and to promote a better working relationship among those persons interested in the problems of this management.
  • To develop further the professional ability of each of its members.
  • To better serve the common interests of its members by providing a means for a free exchange off ideas within the profession.
  • To enable members to become better acquainted personally through casual good fellowship.
  • To work as a group to bring about equipment improvements for greater safety of participants in all sports, recreation activities, and physical education.


  • Applicants must be full-time college students with one year collegiate athletic equipment management experience.
  • Applicants must also display an interest in the field of Athletic Equipment Management.
  • Applicants must provide three (3) Character References with letters of recommendation. One of these references must
    come from the Supervising Equipment Manager.
  • Applicants must submit an original essay of no more than 200 words on the topic of: "What Athletic Equipment Management Means to Me".

Award Process

The scholarship awards will be based on the following criteria:

  • academic achievement,
  • community involvement,
  • displayed interest in Athletic Equipment Management,
  • completion of an essay, and
  • letters of recommendation.


Submit application, required essay and recommendation letters to :

AEMA Office
c/o Sam Trusner
207 E. Bodman
Bement, IL 61813

All applications must be submitted to the National Office by March 15th.



Featured Essay by Past Winners